Posted in Uncategorized

Empanada Day

Having knocked out most the of sweets yesterday, I’m starting on savory foods today. I finished rolling out the extra batch of Empanada dough to chill for filling later and will have over 150 of these little pies this year. In the picture you’ll see what looks like a bunch of dough worms on the side of the pan. Years ago when I started making these, some people had distinct preferences for the Chicken filling as opposed to the Beef. It’s pretty hard to tell by just looking at them which was which, so I started saving some of the dough scraps and shaped little crescents glued to the crust with a little egg wash to mark them as C for Chicken. Some people to this day believe the rumor the C stands for Chris, a friend of my daughter’s since childhood. These are her favorites and she looks forward to having some every year. Believe what you want!

20131210-085217.jpg

Leave a comment